Food wars!

Stupid Sunday!! I thought as I bit into another one of the extremely mushy and funny tasting guavas. Not that I was not spoilt for choice. I did have some cheese crunchies and some chilly garlic dip right in front of me, but as soon as I started my relationship with the munchies, my Mom interrupted. Apparently the Sunday paper had come up with an article indicating, yet again, how harmful sodium and salt chip fries are. So Mom, henceforth, educated me how I must cut down on chips, crunchies, sugar stuffed drinks and other yummier what nots. As the hopelessly workless article author had pointed out, sodium rich foods caused water retention and hence resulted in increased weight gain and other health defects. Yes, I do not need more weight, who does though? But it’s difficult to eat those mushy guavas in front of those crisps; still I mustered up my courage and did.

I was extremely lucky that day. Some previous oily endeavors had given me some beautifully swollen spots on my face which no human could miss. Hence the emphasis on ‘do-not-eat- fried’ followed with more alacrity. I often wonder what will happen if our fruits and vegetables were cut up, dried, seasoned and sold in the colorful packaging like most of the packed junk food. We probably might have gotten addicted that too!!

On several days when I feel the hunger pangs scratching through my stomach and reaching up to my esophagus, I rush to the café often to find every cooked and healthy component of their daily menu finished and I end up with another pack of sodium salt crisps, funnily enough, they are light on the pocket which makes it even harder to resist.

As students with extremely busy schedules, it’s difficult to be a polished little maid who can sustain on probably an almond a day. A burst of determination on one day progressively diminishes over the next couple of days until the situation leaves you helpless, increasingly anxious and in some unfortunate cases, hungry! You turn to some soul food, your beloved junk! In the long run, one eats more and more junk and ends up being the shape of a potato. It turns into a vicious cycle. At least, I would say it’s my Cinderella story without a fairy tale ending.

With a variety of the baked versions of the same crisps hitting the markets today, one wonders if it is at all worthwhile to entertain such brands. What we need is a change of lifestyle. Having the same junk food with an apocryphal claim of being less fat rich will not lead us towards good health. And when you kick start the flow of such thoughts in your brain, the guavas sure do start looking good!!

The solution has to be of one’s own innovation. No one can convince you to be disciplined, more than you yourself. True, it boggles the mind and I say Happy Healthy Snacking!

Leave a Reply

